Screen sharing is a very useful tool for teaching online, but is not always necessary. Before trying to share your screen, consider if the whiteboard would be a better tool for the job. We discuss the pros and cons of screensharing in more detail in this article.
1. Share a window to avoid "infinity mirror" effect
If you share your entire screen, you won't have as much control over what your student sees, as they'll see everything you see. This means you can't check notes or resources you don't want to expose to the student. It also means that you'll get an "infinity mirror" effect if you look at your LearnCube classroom:
To avoid this, it's best to choose a window or tab. That way, the student will only see what's in that window or tab.
2. See your students while screen sharing
When you share your screen on LearnCube, the videos do not automatically pop out. This means that when navigating to another screen, you will no longer be able to see your students. There are two solutions for this issue:
Resize and rearrange your windows
You can make the window you are sharing a little narrower, and overlap the window with your classroom, so that you can see yourself and the students at the side:
Pop out video
Depending on your browser and computer, it's possible to pop out your video and/or your student's video by right clicking on the video panel and selecting "Picture in Picture"
This will give you a hovering video that you can reposition anywhere on your screen.
3. Stop students from annotating
Both you and your students will be able to annotate on the shared screen.
If you don't want your students to draw or write on top of the screen share, you can click on the little lock at the top of the whiteboard tab
We also have these articles which you might find useful: