Quick summary:

  • Yes, you can share your screen in LearnCube.

  • We still encourage uploading materials into the whiteboard because the annotations can then be downloaded or saved for later use.

  • By all means, use screen sharing if you need to show a student how to do something or to access other class materials.

Here's a 2-minute video on how to do it (note: some of the user interface may be out of date).

Generally, we recommend embedding a resource onto the whiteboard. Here's why: 

When you upload a PDF, video, YouTube link, etc into the Lesson Library and load this into the whiteboard you will find that it encourages a more collaborative & interactive class.

Embedding a saved resource uses less internet bandwidth (not requiring an additional video stream) so you can expect much better performance on slow connections.

Annotations are saved to the page, vs just transparent layer, so are also saved in the post-class review

This is why we still recommend embedding materials in the whiteboard.


How to share your screen:

1. Click on the green Screen Share button, and then click on the Screen Share option.

2. Choose the application screen or browser tab you'd like to share and click Share

3. Click Stop when you're done

What to do if your screen share tiles or shows a mirror effect:

Sometimes, when you share your screen, you see the screen tiling in a mirror effect. This is because you've chosen the same tab as the classroom as the screen to share instead of another app or tab.

Remember to take care with selecting which browser tab or application you'd like to share before clicking on the Share button.

Screen sharing tips and notes: 

  • Both you and your students will be able to annotate on the shared screen.

  • Use 'Full screen mode' to make it larger and easier to work on.

  • Screen sharing on mobile devices, including tablets, isn't currently supported.

Did this answer your question?